Polars Album Release w/ Poro & Mimi Arden at Beachland Ballroom

  • 53609528_10161707294965434_5862144731382808576_n

Event Category: Event

  • Saturday, April 13th, 2019

    $10 ADV / $12 DOS / ALL AGES / BALLROOM

    “Native Carbon Bloom” Album Release Show

    Polars is an indie/art rock group based in Cleveland, Ohio. Polars is anchored by songwriters Justin Miller and Kurt Eyman who independently recorded the groups debut EP, Into the Pines (2015), in a home studio located just off the shores of Lake Erie. Receiving both local and national recognition, the group was named one of Cleveland Scene Magazine’s “Bands to Watch”.

    In 2017, the group began the writing process for its debut LP. Miller and Eyman teamed up with local orchestrator/composer, Etienne Massicotte, to begin fleshing out the blueprints for what would become an intricate 10 song album, eventually titled, Native Carbon Bloom. The result was a collection of detailed compositions, utilizing a wide array of instrumentation, including various string, brass, and woodwind arrangements.

    The album was independently recorded throughout 2018 in various studios across Cleveland, New York, and Toronto, featuring performances from over 25 musicians, including members of various orchestras (including The Cleveland Orchestra). The music encompasses various themes including the impacts of global warming, terraform/space exploration, media influence on culture, and the politically disenfranchised. Native Carbon Bloom is scheduled to be released on April 13th, 2019.



    Poro, meaning “good friend” in Pidgin (Tok Pisin), is a musical project based out of Cleveland, Ohio consisting of members Mark Porostosky (present multi-instrumentalist in The Lighthouse and the Whaler), Ryan Walker (fellow TLATW member), and Susan Ulle. Together the band creates an eclectic Indie Pop sound drawing influences from the likes of Sufjan Stevens, Phoenix and Copeland, with a sincere melodic flair all their own.

    In 2016, after six years of writing and touring with TLATW, Mark began creating Poro with material and concepts he had been writing on his own. In early 2017 Treat Yourself was released with the support of former drummer Thomas Ulle and fellow TLATW member Ryan Walker. The lyrically themed self-confidence EP was later named one of the “15 Best Cleveland Album and EP releases of the year” (Cleveland.com). The success of Treat Yourself continued in 2018 as “Embrace,” the album’s most orchestral and anthemic song, was used in the 42nd Cleveland International Film Festival’s trailer; for which Poro also performed at the festival’s closing ceremony.

    Moving forward from Poro’s promising debut EP, the band continues to perform shows around the schedule of their brother band, TLATW, and has a new album titled Eyes out now.


    Mimi Arden

    Mimi Arden is a band fronted by Michelle Gaw, a singer/songwriter, with Lee Kolarik on drums and Joe Botta on bass from Cleveland, OH. The band recently launched a crowdfunding campaign and has spent the last seven months crafting and recording their debut album. The collection of songs on the record have been in the works for two years. Through a creative collaboration of reworking and refining each song, the music has taken new life. Each song tells a different story: heartbreak, rage, friendship, peace, and renewal. With roots in folk, rock, blues, and soul, Mimi Arden’s debut album will be sonically rich, lyrically driven, and excitingly unique.

  • No Records Found

    Sorry, no records were found. Please adjust your search criteria and try again.

    Google Map Not Loaded

    Sorry, unable to load Google Maps API.

  • Leave a Review

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    Rate this Event (overall):
    • rating icon
    • rating icon
    • rating icon
    • rating icon
    • rating icon